Point and Shoots ft. RICOH GRIII HDF

IMG_8293

Over a decade ago in 2010, I bought a Canon S95 because I thought something small and compact with manual controls of a DSLR was a great idea. It was…I just didn’t know how to appreciate it for what it was then. Back then, I was young and in pursuit of the best image quality, the widest aperture, the sharpest images, the most dynamic range, the best colors, and the list went on. Coming from shooting APSC and full frame cameras, the little S95 didn’t compare in terms of image quality and I just kind of push it to the side. As I got older, I grew out of that mentality because image quality doesn’t mean quality images. I stopped chasing after every piece of gear…mostly because I kind of already acquire most things I’d would ever need. It didn’t help that the rise of mirrorless cameras kind of made acquiring more gear for DSLRs kind of pointless should I ever switch…which I kind of did. I bought a Sony A7S for the purpose of traveling and ended up liking it so much I just use to most of the time aside from professional work.

Back in 2010, the internet wasn’t as…robust with information as it is now with so many people entering photography creating a bigger demand for a variety of different types of cameras as ever. There’s always kind of been a small niche of weird purpose specific cameras throughout the years, but camera were an expensive luxury back then aside from your run of the mill disposables. Disposables themselves have their own cult following these days because of their nostalgic aesthetic. So many people are experimenting with all sorts of things for photography these days just to create an interesting and unique look for their photos through gear chasing is still pretty prevalent as ever.

Repurposing a disposable camera lens for use on a digital camera has become a popular trend among photography enthusiasts looking to achieve a vintage look. While this DIY hack may work for some cameras, it comes with its own set of limitations. On the other hand, the market has seen a surge in “film simulation” cameras, with Fujifilm’s X100 series leading the pack. The X100 line, recently releasing the latest X100 IV model, has garnered a loyal following. In a similar vein, the Ricoh GR series has also gained popularity for its film simulation capabilities. Although, the X100 and the GR are often compared due to having film simulations, they are so very different cameras.

The Fujis are tailored towards the film sim enthusiasts, whereas the Ricoh also has that capability, but it’s not its primary draw. Despite recognizing the appeal of the Fuji and its attractive features, I ultimately chose the Ricoh GRIII for a specific reason. The compact size of the Ricoh, especially with its retractable lens, makes it incredibly portable despite housing an APSC sensor, comparable in size to the Canon S95. In contrast, the Fuji is bulky and heavy. The features I appreciate in the Fuji are already present in my Sony A7S, so there’s no unique allure for me to switch to Fuji. Personally, after using the Ricoh GRIII for some time, I’ve realized that film simulations don’t hold much importance to me. While it’s a neat feature, I prefer to edit my photos post-capture, which doesn’t significantly impact my workflow. I don’t typically transfer photos directly to my phone or tablet for immediate editing or uploading. What I sought was a quick and discreet camera for candid shots, which is why I opted for the Ricoh.

IMG_8301

When I was officially looking to buy a Ricoh GRIII, they were backordered everywhere so I have to just keep checking the usual sites. Amazon briefly listed it available and quickly became unavailable after I ordered mine. It took about three weeks for me to get it and as soon as I got the GRIII in….Ricoh announced the HDF variant. It was essentially what I was going to run for my setup, but now it’s all built in and made mine setup obsolete..sort of. So what you see above is a filter adapter so you can mount a 49mm filter to the front of the GRIII. I was planning on running a diffusion filter for the most part, but since the HDF has one built in, there’s no reason to do it the old way. The regular GRIII has a ND filter built in while the HDF replaces that filter with a diffusion filter. If you were to run a different type of filter, you’d need the adapter regardless. I must advise against using the NISI adapter because it causes errors when the lens hits the filter, particularly when using the macro mode. Although I had no intention of using the macro mode with a filter, one of my friends accidentally activated it while testing the setup. So when the preorders for the HDF model opened up, I quickly jumped to find somewhere to order it. Adorama was prompt as ever with preorders opening up right on time while Amazon and B&H were not up for a while. In addition, Adorama got the camera in early and shipped it to me overnight so I got it maybe 10 days earlier than expected.

IMG_8302

The GRIII and it’s HDF counterpart are pretty much the same camera with the exception of the silver shutter button and a special HDF button for activating the filter.

IMG_8298

With the release of the HDF version, Ricoh also released a firmware update for all GRIIIs that added a new zone focusing system and 3 white balances registered.

IMG_8297

These are test images to show the difference between HDF on and off.

R0000175

R0000174

It is a specific effect and look, but having it on demand it nice when you do or don’t want it.

R0000176

The diffusion effect also varies depending on the light source in your images. It can be very evident, but also very easy to control in post. Controlling in camera, its not as easy as switching to a different diffusion filter.

R0000180-Enhanced-NR

R0000182

If you get it just right, the effect has a kind of magical glow.

R0000165-Enhanced-NR

Overall, I’ve really enjoyed shooting some casual stuff on the GRIII and the HDF model. I don’t think it will be replacing any of my other cameras anytime soon for serious shooting, but it fills a nice void between my phone and my interchangeable lens cameras. While many say that their phone is sufficient, even to this day, phone images are at best reference material for me. My Canon S95 from 2010 still has been image quality than a modern day phone camera. Sure, the image from a phone has immensely improved since 2010, but seems like sensor size still triumphs in the end in this case. The Ricoh GRIII is compact enough for me to carry just about anywhere.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.