Sleeper PC: Mac Pro Part Four

Back with a quick update on the build, I finally found some time to clean up some sections and work on some of the issues. I picked up a new fully modular power supply from EVGA and a new CPU cooler for the build. To test out the build and start sorting out where I want to lay things out, I put together a quick running setup to see where I was at in terms of what worked.

20210101_134411

Here you can see the PSU installed without any cables yet. I will note that the holes for the PSU screws weren’t exactly a perfect fit right off the bat, so I drilled out the holes just a bit to widen them so that the screws went in straight without any issues.

You may also see that I install three 2.5 in SSDs in the holder that comes with the Laser Hive Deluxe kit. I’d recommend you skip out on this option and opt for a regular non SSD holder version.

20210101_135333

The reason being that most PSU cables might not fit behind the motherboard. The stand offs just aren’t tall enough to seat the motherboard with these chunky power cables behind it. You could get or make custom cables to avoid this issue. For me, I could mount the SSDs somewhere else or use an M.2 SSD.

20210101_142643

Don’t mind the mess, this is just to see everything up and running with a spare setup I had around. Not sure if I’m going to use these components yet. The CPU cooler also isn’t going to be this Noctua NH-U12S, I plan to use the Corsair H80i which is a single fan AIO that can be mounted directly to the rear fan mount. Due to the lack of fan mounting points, I went this route so I picked the thickest radiator with a single fan.

So now I just need to figure out the cable management, SSD placement, and the cooling setup.

20210101_142636

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.